The Wonderful World of Sock Monkeys!

Emily’s Ornament Update – Santa’s Hair and Beard

It’s so exciting to be on track with a project and know it will get finished WAY BEFORE the Christmas deadline!

I always think that I’m going to crank these things out in a couple of hours, partly because I never build in any “fix it” time. And I definitely needed fix it time on Santa’s hair and beard. I had finished two of the four sections and was cruising along on my third when I realized something was way off. I pored over the pattern and my work and couldn’t really figure out a way to “fudge” it with what I’d completed because it would affect Santa’s face, so I took out all of the stitching on the third section and started over – what a difference! Everything now lined up properly, and even though I was annoyed that it took a lot more time, it did give me more confidence in what I was doing.

Counting is HARD! But I guess that's why it's called "counted cross stitch", huh? I had to take out all the stitching in the upper left because my pattern was way off.

Counting is HARD! But I guess that’s why it’s called “counted cross stitch”, huh? I had to take out all the stitching in the upper left because my pattern was way off and I couldn’t get things to line up right…

...stitching corrected and back on track - hair and beard is now finished...

…stitching corrected and back on track – hair and beard is now finished…

The face is done in profile -

…the face is done in profile…

...with all stitching completed. Now on to the beading!

…with all stitching completed. Now on to the beading!

Leave a Reply

